clutch problem

I wonder if any of you guys can help with my clutch problem.
i have a renault 21t gearbox and AP racing clutch mated to a mustang type flywheel. I have only driven about 100 miles. With the engine running I cannot select reverse, makes a horrible grinding noise, this may be due to not enough clutch disengagement. Also all forward gears are not easy either. I have noticed that the initial few inches of the clutch pedal travel does not offer any resistance and this was not present before. With the engine off I noticed a squeeking noise upon depression of the clutch pedal, this noise has always been present.

Another observation I made is that with the engine running the clutch pedal feels notchy but becomes smooth when the engine is off.

Could it a throw out bearing problem?. I just don't know as I am a novice. Your help would be appreciated.

Syed,
It's a bit difficult to diagnose without being able to see what happens when you depress the clutch pedal.
OK, it sounds very much as if the clutch is dragging - the synchromesh is allowing you to force the forward gears in, while the lack of synchro on reverse causes the noises. But why are you losing travel?
Does the clutch rod move as soon as you depress the pedal? If so, it's likely to be the disengagement mechanism - requiring removal of the gearbox to investigate further.
If the clutch rod doesn't move immediately, it's more likely a hydraulic-related problem.
I could provide a list of people who might help with the heavy lifting if you'd care to e-mail me.

Hi Tony.Thanks for your reply. There is some play in the clutch pedal which does not cause any movement in the slave cylinder rod. However the pedal does not feel as hard as it used to, especially in the initial travel. I have checked the travel of the slave rod,which appears to be normal. Could it be a binding disc?.

I will try adjusting the clutch pedal rod to reduce the free play tomorrow.