Ex-AAR guy enjoying the cars here

I have always been a big fan of the GT40.
I was also lucky enough to work with Dan Gurney at AAR during its last seasons as a racing car manufacturer and team. Those were good days.

I am a vehicle design engineer by trade, and I have since worked for Ford, Brembo, Prodrive, and now TRW...with a brief stop at Ferrari...and possibly returning there next year.

I include a few pics from AAR in the 1998-99 seasons, and the Eagle, the last of Gurneys racers. I am really impressed by what I have found is available out there in the current replica market, and I look forward to learning and sharing what I can here.
-Eric

Attachments

• AAR 1999-Dan Gurney.jpg
    AAR 1999-Dan Gurney.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 972
  • AAR 997 Toyota 1.jpg
    AAR 997 Toyota 1.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 2,492
  • AAR 997 Toyota.jpg
    AAR 997 Toyota.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 1,095
  • AAR997rollout.jpg
    AAR997rollout.jpg
    45.5 KB · Views: 1,108
  • AAR 997 Eagle assembly.jpg
    AAR 997 Eagle assembly.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 991
Thanks guys,

I prowled around here a bit and was really impressed at the cars and knowledge of those building and running them.

I am happy to throw out my two cents, but at the same time I have a lot to learn from here as well. There is a lot of experience and talent going into these cars.

I have a feeling I will have no choice in the end but to build one myself. Just dont know what part of the world ill be living in 6 months from now. I am in Japan currently. maybe italy or USA is next.

Eric

Ron Earp

Admin
Welcome to the forum, really cool pictures! I hope you enjoy it and help us poor folks out who haven't been as fortunate to be around some of those folks and cars.

Ron

Thanks Ron,

I have been lucky and pursued my career in working with the people and companies that I really enjoy. Hasnt made me rich, but I have had a great time of it.