RBT in an SPF?

charlie c

Lifetime Supporter
Hello kids -

Has anyone mounted an RBT 6-speed in an SPF GT40, and if so, what is the situation in terms of the bellhousing protruding beneath the pan, and clearancing/mounting issues? Is the RBT box really a drop-in fit, or will I need to mill ears and search out a new bellhousing to avoid scooping up Bott's Dots with my low-hanging trans?

I assume that if one is using the ZF box, that Bob Wood's (Safir) bellhousing and clutch setup is the answer... but what about RBT users?

Thanks!

charlie c

Lifetime Supporter
Right.... err.... so..... that means the RBT 6 is subject to the same concerns regarding the bellhousing protruding below the pan... and one needs to address this by means of a modifying or replacing the bellhousing.... yes?

(forgive my lack of knowledge! I'm a total noob, but I'm learning... slowly.)

Pat Buckley

GT40s Supporter
You are correct.

Everyone was a beginner at some point.

I had considered a 6 speed when I first got my car but drove a 5 speed and felt that it wasn't worth it.

Charlie,

The original GT40 used a smaller diameter bellhousing and consequently a smaller diameter bellhousing. The ground clearance issues which have been raised relate to the larger diameter bellhousing protrusing below the chassis (there are piuctures on the forum somewhere which i pressume you have seen).

I have not seen the Safir bellhousing but bearing in mind its provenance i pressume it is pretty damn correct; John Wisher who posts on the Forum also produces an original bellhousing which is cast in aluminium and is availiable in the UK and (pressumably) overseas. This bellhousing incorporates the lower bellhousing mounts so the transmission is mounted to the "horseshoe top and bottom" rather than just the top pendulum mounts which some people have observed could lead to the transmission swinging like a pendulum.