How to get video on you tube

Ross Nicol

GT40s Supporter
Ok I have managed to DIY a video onto you tube all by myself without the help of my son. This on it's own has provided me with much pleasure. I looked through the forum for a suitable area to post my 'how to' and this seems the most appropriate place.
Firstly I will declare I am not an expert but I learn enough to get the job done, which is probably why I can make sense to others who are not of the x,y or z generations.
Ok here goes.
You Tube will host your video but they have restrictions and they are-
1/ your video must be no longer than 10 minutes (I tried 14min-no go)
2/ The file size of your video must be no more than 100mb

Ok to give you an idea, the 14min DVD I made from my latest video was 532mb, much larger than you tube will accept.
I ran the video recorder and edited while I recorded a DVD that came in under 10minutes total play time.
The next step is to download a compression programme which is commonly known as ripping software.The one I downloaded was isofter DVD platinum which is very well laid out, input on the left from DVD, output on the right to a file you set up and a small video screen at the bottom showing your video as it progresses.
The input seems to load automatically from the DVD and you only have to configure the output which conveniently has a you tube setting.Then you press start and it all happens in front of your eyes the finished file is reduced to 100mb or under and you can play the file in windows media player to check it.
Now you need to register with you tube and then you will be able to upload the compressed video.They say this takes a short time but I found on my system it took much longer, in fact I went to bed and left it running.
Once it's finished you can bring up the video on you tube and play it.
The last step is to post it on the forum and to do this follow these steps.