Mirage #1004 Mk.II build

Well time to start this build thread off.

With the amount of time I have been spending away working offshore (I work in the UK offshore Oil and Gas industry) and the new emergent replica mono builders that simply weren't about 2 1/2 years ago (or at least weren't generally known about) I have taken the big step of moving away from my space frame project to one one the new Mirage chassis. As you might know from my previous build thread I have gathered many original spec Mk.II pieces that will now find their way onto the new car :). The deposit is down and I am now the proud owner/deposit owner of Chassis 1004 (nothing to do with the Mk.I Le Mans 1965 car btw ;))

More pics as they happen - the 1st fit of a big bock into a Mirage shouldn't be far off now :) I think the phrase was "I see what they mean by BIG Block now!"

I was assigned 1004 because of all the chassis in build this was the least built up, so the modifications that Ford did to the Mk.I to turn it into the MK.II can more easily be done to this chassis.

Ray and Steve are a couple of great guys doing a FANTASTIC job there; the attention to detail is what really caught my eye, (JimmyMac has already posted the pic, but the build table is a piece of art in its own right). The repeatability they have achieved would make Ford blush when looking at the original cars!

A few photos for you to whet the appetite.

1004_041108_1.jpg

View#1 (front 1/4)

1004_041108_2.jpg

View#1 (rear through engine bay)

monos.jpg

4 Monos in build (mine is furthest from camera), 1002, 1003, 1004 and 1005 present.

build_table.jpg

Mirage's build table. (about 1/2 inch thick steel laser cut to align each chassis.

Cheers

Craig

Last edited:

JimmyMac

Lifetime Supporter
Phewee !!,
Wow ~ that was quick Craig.
So we have MKI road and race cars, now a MKII in the shop, well who's going to try for the Mirage ?
Many congratulations at the inception of your new project.

Last edited:
Phewee !!,