Building a Pair of SCCA Mustangs - Or what I've been doing for the last six months...

Ron Earp

Admin
As most of you know I sold my Z in 2011 and moved the Lola on in the earlier part of this year. However, I've not been idle, not at all. I've been balls out on two SCCA ITS Mustangs (along with Jeffs) since November 2011 and we recently completed them in the last couple of weeks.

I've got a build thread located:

ITS Ford Mustang(s) Build - Stripper Stang Part II - Page 20 - IT.com Forums

Although you might want to set the thread to show fifty posts at a time as it is pretty long.

We recently got Sleestak out for testing at VIR and it did pretty good for the first outing. We've a lot of suspension tuning to do, as well as additional engine development, but we were damn happy for a test day - the car ran 2 hours with nary a peep.

SCCA ITS Mustang Testing at VIR - YouTube

We had a lot of videoed sessions but for whatever reason none of them would synch with the on-board data, so this is Mr. Young on a lap in the last session. Everything else was out of whack.

Looking forward to racing Memorial Day weekend with our regular crowd. I've been out of ITS racing since late 2010 and miss the racing as well as all my friends.

logsmall1.jpg

Ron

Re: Building a Pair of SCCA Mustangs - Or what I've been doing for the last six month

Looks fun, are the front wheels actually connected the steering wheel??:stunned:
Understeer central, are the tires shagged or is this the set-up you speak about, must be a lot of weight over the front end!!!
Sounds nice

Randy V

Moderator-Admin
Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
Re: Building a Pair of SCCA Mustangs - Or what I've been doing for the last six month

That 4 banger's got some pretty good snot to push that car to 124 mph as I saw indicated... Cool stuff and lots of performance goodies from Esslinger and others for that engine..

Nice work! :thumbsup:

Ron Earp

Admin