new

Hello All,
I have enjoyed reading all your posts for several months now while i figure out what i want. I have decided on building a SL-C. Pretty obvious since i am posting here...

Now for what is the first of what i presume will be millions of questions. Can i use the Tremec TR-6060 Transmission in this car? If not, I love to go fast, so what would you recommend? i see a lot about the G-50, though there are numerous variations... i don't want to over build my engine for the transmission so a good hp/tq limit from what i can tell is between 500-650...?

I don't really know a lot about cars. As for my background i am a helicopter mechanic, and i just love to build things, at least when i have time. it has been a dream of mine to build a car, and well i look forward to the challenge.

Anyway thank you for your time and any help!:thumbsup:

Hello Zav,
I would suggest reading some of the many SLC build threads. SLCs require a transaxle, as opposed to a transmisson such as the one you asked about. You might want to do a little research on the subject. Regardless, welcome to the group.

I knew that, i just wasn't sure what the differences were from transmission to trans axle.

I have read a bit on it. and many of the build threads.
I just saw this on Tremec's web site *Modular design for rear wheel drive (RWD), all wheel drive (AWD) and transaxle platforms* and thought that something like this could be applied in this case.

I was honest in the fact if it isn't a turbo-shaft or turbo-jet engine i don't know a thing about it...

I am trying to do as much research as i can, but i can guarantee i will ask some questions you will think are stupid and no brainers.

please don't write me off just yet.

No worries, there is very little space in one of these cars, although you could put an axle or transfer box behind a regular transmisson the overall length would make it impossible to fit in a car of this type.