Building a GT40

Ron Earp

Admin
Okay.

Being a scientist I've tried to approach the building of a car the way I've approached other scientific problems I've encountered throughout my career.

I research the task first, in order to find out what people have done in the past.

I study current work, to find out how people are presently adapting to problems encountered previously, and what innovations they have to add.

Then, I sit down with all of this knowledge, collate it, process it, and determine the path I will choose in order minimize problems previously encountered and to maximize gains realized by colleagues.

However, I've a problem - I have a seven week old that interjects all types of random noise into this process - namely feedings, changing, fussyness, and "the world just ain't right" noises.

How do I plan for these in the building of a car?

You know, I really like children, especially my own, but I really should have valued my time before children a lot more intently! :) People said, "Ron, you need to spend every working hour on the car before your baby, else you'll regret it." I said, "Naw, everything is good, I have plenty of time to take care of things. You don't know what you're talking about". So much for that.

I write this at as I'm trying to feed a baby, change some dipers, and get at least a few hours of sleep for the day before I need to be in the office early. I should have listened...;-), but it is all good, I will finish the the car and I'll be happy, as will Sydney. It won't be easy though, damn I wish I could have done this when I was in the early 30s! So, maybe a little older won't be so bad...

Ron

[ October 08, 2001: Message edited by: Ron Earp ]

[ October 08, 2001: Message edited by: Ron Earp ]

Ron,