Mk I - Mk IV Differences?

G

I'm kinda new to GT40's (I have an ERA Cobra). I know that Mk I's were small blocks, Mk II's were big blocks, and Mk III's were street cars, but that's about it. Can anybody help me understand the differences in the bodies? Which one has the single large intake on the hood vs. the the double one? Any other diferences? Picture? Other websites that explain so you don't have to? Sorry for asking so many questions, any help will be appreciated.

Jeff

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
A good place to begin also is some of the books out: David Hodge's book, or Trevor Legate's new one. Also there is a Brooklands' Gold Portfolio about GT40s that reproduced lots of contemporary articles about the cars, lots of fun and info although the illustrations are sometimes abit dim or grainy. And John Allen's book is good, too...in that one you get to see really excellent photos of lots of the cars and you can spot the differences.

G

In my opinion, the MKIV is so different in
construction and shape that it's hard to
view it as a GT40. So I'll ask the question...what makes it a GT40?
Just because Ford built it to supercede
the MK II?

MikeD

I personally feel that the beauty of the MKI is its timeless design....the sexy curves and exotic appeal are not too over the top for a classy street machine, yet it has such a respectable racing heritage! Hard to beat......All this in an American car no less! May be blasphemy to most in this room that I am surprised that Ford could produce such a machine, that but I am a Ferrari (348) and Porsche (996-C4) owner and was die hard into the european cars until I discovered this amazing GT-40 MKI.....attainable and reasonably priced with such torque and horsepower! Supurb.

Clay

I agree with Clay. The Mark I is by far the best looking. The Mark II was a beast, the mark III a feeble attempt at making a street car, and the Mark IV a mutation from the original.

Mike,