Would you want a composite chassis GT40

G

If a fully composite chassis were available, would you consider buying one or would you say "wow, cool!" and never give it a second thought? What if it were reasonably priced and what would reasonable be (presumably, it would constructed primarily with carbon fiber)? Given the versatility of the material, what differences/enhancements would you like to see?

G

Lynn,
I'm new to the whole GT40 world, and am interested in finding out more about this car. I hope to own one someday(replica, or one of the new ones that are coming out). I noticed that you're also in Raleigh, NC. Do you have a GT40, and if so, do you have pictures of it that you can share?

Thanks.

Jim Rosenthal

Supporter
I think a composite chassis GT40 would be great. It would be lighter, stiffer and probably handle better, that being a relative term in a car that handles as well as a GT40 to begin with...reasonable price, 30K to 40K for the chassis ready to put on the body and mechanicals. The wiring would be interesting- you'd have to run returns or have a return system for all the grounds.

G

Mike, there are a couple of us in the area who are building GT40s. There are rumored to be one to two ERA GT40s in the area. Have some pictures but haven't set up a http server to host them from yet. I think I have some space available to me at TW Road Runner and I need to check into that so I can post some pictures. Email me and maybe we can set a time for you to see the car.

There is no composite chassis GT40 yet. Someone mentioned this on another thread that was deeply involved with a discussion of monocoque vs space frame in mild steel vs stainless, etc., etc. Someone made a post that said "Just make a composite chassis and the will solve everything." This made me curious about how accepted a composite chassis would be.

I've thought about using FRP in chassis (not in the ERA GT - why fiddle with perfection
wink.gif
).