Let's talk carbon fiber

Hello Gents,

First of all I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Daniel and I'm in the process of building my first BMW M powered SLC. My whole career involves modifying/repairing BMW which is why I chose to put a S85 in my Slc.
My build is moving along steadily considering there is so much modifying that has to be done.

Now that Ive got that out of the way I'd like to discuss carbon fiber options, quality and durability of interior/exterior items. Pros/Cons etc.

With my SLC I purchased quite a few carbon fiber items and am in the process of polishing those items. Considering I'm new at this what products do you guys recommend to give carbon fiber a glossy shine that will last ? Is it worth clear coating? I hear the gel coat can yellow over time if exposed to the sun? Also it seems I have one item that has a couple of hazy/foggy spots... Can that be wet sanded and buffed out? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Clear coating is really the only way to get a gloss to it. Alot easier to sand and polish out clear coat than it is resin anyways. Auto clear coat will also have uv blockers in it.
Hazy/foggy spots are not really repairable. If purchased that way, I would ask for a return if possible. If it is clear coated, and it is in the clear, then yes, sanding it down and reclearing can take care of it. Really just have to test and see though. If it is in the resin, not much can be done that I know of.

Fran Hall RCR

GT40s Sponsor
Scott
The parts have clear gelcoat and can be fully sanded and polished and then clear coated
Remember that carbon is a material and not a finish ..there is a reason that paganis with cosmetically appealing carbon bodies cost more than race car bodies , also made from carbon.

I didn't know he was referring to your parts. It sounded to me like it was some aftermarket type stuff, which could have been done any number of ways to create the "look".