Mk I: Mirrors & fitting the driver

Thomas Hertzler

Lifetime Supporter
I was supposed to take delivery of my Mk I (#2228) on Thursday but it looks like the Roush 427IR is leaking oil. So I decided to go to the dealer and take a look for myself.

I won't go into the oil leak issue because that will be handled under warranty, but there were two other issues that left me puzzled and worried about the competence of my dealer.

I noticed that, although the car was supposedly ready for inspection by the DMV for road registration, it had no rear view mirrors. I am no expert in these things but I am pretty sure that you need rear-view mirrors if you want to drive a vehicle on the road. What have other SPF Mk I owner installed in their cars?

Then I decided to sit in the car for the first time (it had always been on a roller and the lift before) and found out that my shins were chafing the bottom edge of the dashboard. I was told that @ 5'11" I would not have a problem fitting into the car at all. I sat in a ERA and rode along in a SPF Mk II and had no space issues, so I had no reason to doubt the dealer's statement.

What options does the dealer have to fit me into the car (they test drove it without the seat cushions). Can the pedal box be moved? The cushions are very thin already and I don't want them to touch the sheet metal.

Also, I have seen SPFs with carpeted side sills - is that an option from the factory?

I apologize for all these questions that should have been answered by the dealer, but I am beginning to have a trust issue :)

Last edited:
Yes, the pedal box is adjustable. Your dealer should fit the box for you personally.

The sill mats come with the car. You dealer has them somewhere.

Many types of mirrors are bing fitted. While not period correct, I like these on my Mark II.

Mike

Attachments

• Mirrors.JPG
    Mirrors.JPG
    23.4 KB · Views: 510