rear disc brake actuator

john bach

GT40s Supporter
my SPF2116 spit out the eft rear parking brake actuator. the actuator resembles a brake wheel cylinder. i can only guess that a screw came adrift and got caught between rotating assemblies. the attaching end flanges (2) got broken off . these flanges were countersunk for flathead allen screws that held the actuator to the (screwed into) upright. i recovered the actuator and have been trying to obtain a new one from SPF in Irvine Ca. i guess the factory did not recognize the detailed drawing i sent ( i am a technical illustrator by trade) or the photos i sent because sure enough they sent the wrong part. so last night i started searching the net and found the GM makes a "AC Delco rear parking brake kit 179-2060" that sells on E-Bay for around $80 to $90.00. so this AM i called the local Chevy dealer and they will special order the kit for $163.66. the photos of the kit do not show enough detail to determine if the actuator shown is the one i need. so, i'm asking SPF owners whop might know about said actuator. dont know if Chevy special ordered actuator kit is returnable or if kit on E Bay is returnable. always use loctite?

Rick Muck- Mark IV

GT40s Sponsor
Supporter
John,

Post the photo and we can check it. Plus there are some used pieces available from people who have removed the E brake setup.

john bach

GT40s Supporter
ok,gents, looked at all the pics and read all the blogs in he brake section mentioned. my "brake actuator cylinder" looks like all those shown except mine has the mtg holes in a direct line with center line of cylinder so it looks like same mfr. both ends broken off including holes. question is ... who is manufacturer?

john bach

GT40s Supporter