I'm no expert but I suspect 48IDA Webers might not be enough for such a large engine. Remember, the small block cars used them, but the big block cars had to run Holleys.

EMPI makes 52mm (I think) versions of the Weber carbs which might prove better?

Steve

Supporter
Gus, Webers are another level of complexity above and beyond typical 4bbl carburetors. Do you have a set? If not, I'd consult Jim Inglese (he has a web site) and have him work with you on the linkage as well as the appropriate set up based on you engine parameters. It would likely save you a lot of time, money and hassle.

I have Webers on my Race car, my AC Ace and on my Cobra.... I know a thing our two about Webers. I was just curious to see if anyone had set them up on that specific engine, just to see what would be a good starting point for tuning.

I would agree with the suggestion of contacting Jim Inglese. He really knows his stuff. I have a 351 windsor stroked to 427 with 48 IDAs. I had Jim rebuild them and set up the linkage properly (needed a new pivot point to avoid locking on full throttle!). The key is definitely having the floats set right, the timing set right (more timing than other carbs) and also the fuel pressure (2.5 - 3). Jim will definitely steer you right. It is not cheap, but certainly not overpriced for the experience and amount of work.

Karl

Sorry guys, my experience with Inglese was VERY poor. Incredibly crappy initial set up and not much better after sending the carbs in for rebuild... Still had a twisted Throttle shaft.... I am far more impressed with Pierce Manifolds... But, regardless... I found some decent starting numbers on the SAAC website. I just would like to not spend $1000 on tuning parts that turn out not to work on this engine....

Gus,