GT40 Chassis 111

Hello:
About 10 years back I had the opportunity to drive GT40 111, the Whitmoore Le Mans car. I did not drive it in completion but on regular roads in traffic. I still cherish that drive. At the moment, being a photographer, I took a number of pictures. Unfortunately, about two years later, I suffered a [hard drive] crash and lost about 10,000 pictures ! Also those of the GT40. Realizing the uniqueness of the car and the lack of pictures and wanting to diversify in my my photography into my other passion, cars, I decided to “restore” some remnants of this session, mainly thumbnails mere snapshots. Therefore the pictures are not up to standard, but better a picture which is not optimal than no picture at all. I just published the page but it is not integrated into the menu system of the site. Therefore; chances are big that you are only able to access it from the link in this mail.

I trust you will be interested in these at Ford GT40. ( shortlink in case embedded on does not work Photography in Motion by Andre L. Hulstaert1965 Ford GT40 - Photography in Motion by Andre L. Hulstaert )

Enjoy !

Andre

Very kind of you to share! I hate to rain on your parade, but the car you drove is not GT/111. Either you misremember the story behind the car you drove, or else somebody was trying to pawn off a fake. The whereabouts of GT/111 were unknown for many years, so it wouldn't surprise me if some unscrupulous character would craft a proper replica and then attempt to affix the false identity to it. However, GT/111 was one of four Mk 1 roadster GT40s, and the car you shot was a coupe.

Some years after you drove the car in question, the real GT/111 surfaced. Full story and photos here:

www.classicdriver.com/driven-1965-ford-gt40-roadster

I wonder where the car that you shot is located today?

Bummer about the hard drive crash....:cry:

Hello Mike
Thanks for the info/rectification.