Flat crank V-12...

I'm sure I've seen a flat crank V-12 somewhere...perhaps it was a F1 engine. Does anyone know of a production car or racing V-12 with a flat crank?

There's a recent review of the new f-car GTO having a flat crank V-12 here: 2011 Ferrari 599GTO - First Drive Review - Auto Reviews - Car and Driver

I also heard that the most recent iteration of the Aston Martin V-12 utilized a flat crank.

Apologies in advance if this post is in the wrong section - probably not much chance of a flat crank V-12 being used in a GT40 due to packaging issues....

Doug S.

The protoplasm may be 72, but the spirit is 32!
Lifetime Supporter
I've always been a bit intrigued by the flat crank issue.....but have a general question, here.....are all horizontally opposed engines flat-crank equipped? It would seem so to me, but to say I am not an automotive engineer would be an understatement at the very least!

Doug

I've always been a bit intrigued by the flat crank issue.....but have a general question, here.....are all horizontally opposed engines flat-crank equipped? It would seem so to me, but to say I am not an automotive engineer would be an understatement at the very least!

Doug

Hi Doug,

Nope, there's plenty of both (flat crank and multi-crank) versions in a horizontally opposed configuration. Same for V designs - the basic f-car 3.0ltr V8 is a flat crank while the Lancia Thema version of the very same engine differs only in that it has a conventional multi-plane crank, just for example.

If by the term flat crank you mean single plane crank then I think you you will find that all V12 cranks are single plane. Put it this way, we have balanced dozens of V12 cranks,Ferrari, Jaguar etc and none needed bob weights like a conventional dual plane V8. Maybe I just havn't found one yet!
Mike

Seymour Snerd

Lifetime Supporter
....all v12 cranks are single plane. ...

v12 crank small.jpg