Newbie here...can anyone shed some light on how a 427 can have this kind of range

Hi there,

Im still learning...but what is up with this engine?

I thought 427's naturally aspirated top out around 500HP or so...throw in some error if you want to but how is a 2500HP engine possible with the same displacement, and same stroke?

I get that they can vary, but even 2000HP is hard to get to without major engine mods...is there something obvious about the LSX I dont know?

Brian Kissel

Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
That looks to be a long block for a turbo engine. It has top notch components that are designed to handle (up to) 2500hp. Looks like no turbos or intake or fuel system included.

Regards Brian

first off, a good 427 can make 600+ hp without anything remotely exotic. Second, as above, the motor you reference is built for boost, and you'll need 60+psi of it to get to 2500 HP. Thus the billet crank, super strong rods, and pistons that are not only strong, but have the top ring lowered from the crown. And also as above, the long block is only the start of the 2500 HP build. A lot of money is going into the supporting hardware.

Not that hard to imagine 2500 boosted hp when you consider top fuel engines extract 10k or so from similar cubic inches.

Neil

Supporter
These are apples & oranges comparisons. Sure, tremendous horsepower can be coaxed from engines under the right circumstances but an important consideration is "for how long?".
Top fuel dragsters can exceed 10k horsepower for a 3 second run down a quarter-mile drag strip but it won't live for much longer. Contrast that with a land speed streamliner where the engine is running full throttle for over 5 miles. Two totally different applications with totally different requirements. NASCAR, off-shore boat racing, Le Mans, etc require long-term reliability at high horsepower, not the same as street requirements at all.

Howard Jones

Supporter