Collins' Custom GT40 MK1 Build

Hello, everyone! I thought I would start this build thread in order to be able to ask questions with context and keep track of our progress. We will be building two cars. My friend Chuck and I got together a team of really knowledgable guys that are just excited to get a couple of GTs together. John is a great fabricator, Greg is a master welder, and Chuck owned a business making Cobra kit cars for a number of years. It's as good a team as any.

As mentioned in my intro thread, I'm a Mechanical Engineer that graduated from KU back in 2012. I helped build the 2012 KU FSAE car that took 1st place in Lincoln, NE. I've never built a full-size car before, but figured I would give it the old "college try." :)

This is the JMS12c. I was the wing/aero guy but helped in all matters composite. We designed and fabricated our own parts including the molds to make them. We have a full carbon monocoque. Fun stuff. The car is currently on display at the Museum of Speed in Nebraska if anyone local cares to go take a look.

The thought behind our GT40 build is to use easy-to-replace (off the shelf) parts where possible and to make the car suitable for road use, not purely a track car. It won't be a purists car by any means; just fun to drive. I am designing the entire car from the ground up in SolidWorks.

We will be utilizing the C5/C6 Corvette suspension in the correct Corvette geometry, albeit with a shortened wheelbase and track width to match that of the original GT40. Our car will use the Ford Coyote 5.0 mated to an RBT 5 speed ZF Transaxle.

Here's the Coyote mated to the ZF. Quick Time just came out with a bellhousing for the Coyote-ZF coupling, we got the first two sold from Jegs.

We have our own set of molds pulled from a Superformance car, and have gotten a couple sets of body parts out of it already:

And our progress so far with the frame:

Laying it out: