Hello from wv another locust guy

I built a locost 7 from scratch using a Kawasaki 1100 engine built mainly for autocross. I enjoyed the experience so much that I have a gt 40 build in my future. I have a friend within 30 miles that built one but I never really thought I would. But I want to build a car that is are to see with lots of horsepower, so now I am really considering it. I have 6 Porsches, so next year is a selling year and then we start the build.

My question is "How do I find out more how to do it?". With the low cost, there were several books available to get me started. What's out there for a GT40?

What part of WV Bill?

I knew a Bill Smith in college BTW. Went to WVU

As for how to do it...LOTS of options. It depends on how you are with certain things of course. Can you weld for example. If so, you might want to get plans and build your own chassis.

Re: Hello from wv another locost guy

Keyser, wv. - eastern panhandle.

I graduated from WVU 1980 Mech Eng.

I can pretty much do it all - machine work, welding, cutting, paint, motor and trans work - about the only thing I struggle with is interior work.

There is nothing locost on a Forty build that is related to the original 40. When you add it all up Locost 7 can be built for pennies compared to a 40. Looking forward to seeing your build progress.

Re: Hello from wv another locost guy

Keyser, wv. - eastern panhandle.

I graduated from WVU 1980 Mech Eng.

I can pretty much do it all - machine work, welding, cutting, paint, motor and trans work - about the only thing I struggle with is interior work.

Small world Bill. I am from Fort Ashby. Get home every year to go to a WVU game and see mom.

Do you have an idea how much of the project you are wanting to do yourself? There are several places that offer diagrams to build your own chassis, then you can get their fiberglass to cover it (wouldn't suggest doing that yourself unless you really wanted to spend a lot of time).