New to the world of the SL-C

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of the SL-C and although I said hello up in the Introduction forum, this is my first post in the SL-C specific section.

I'm interested in taking on the build of a component car and have spent a fair amount of time surveying what's involved with some of the options from another manufacturer. Given some of their shortcomings. . although not insurmountable. . . I'm now drawn to the SL-C about which I know relatively little. My interest is in building a road-going exotic for semi-daily driving here in SoCal.

I've read everything on the RCR website in addition to other articles I came across and I'm going through the few build logs here, but I still have plenty of questions I need to resolve before I can pull the trigger on a build of any sort. With respect to the SLC, if one elects to purchase the "all stages" $43k option, one article suggests that engine, transmission and tires are all that are needed to complete a running car. Is that really the case barring small parts here and there? Everything else, fuel pump, etc. . . . its all there? What non-drivetrain parts AREN'T included that might not be immediately obvious to someone new to the SL-C world (mirrors, etc) ?

Also, best I can tell there are ~25 of these out in the world? Any in SoCal other than the curb-side special of dubious ownership recently listed in a seperate thread?

Cheers,

Ruth

Off the top of my head you'll need

-electrical
-fuel (pump,lines,regulator)
-engine
-transaxle
-tires (+upgraded rims - having owned both sets, you really need the upgraded CCW rims imho)
-exhaust

Plus a bunch of tools as you go along (e.g., round rod, right and left handed taps to make adjustable rod ends to hold the front clip up and make its height adjustable) and knick-knacks (e.g., weatherpacks for rear lighting)

Fran Hall RCR

GT40s Sponsor
Ruth/ArtGirl,

as Alex mentioned..

engine
ecu and engine harness..including pedal module if ETC.
transaxle
clutch