Plasti Dip Thread

PeteB

GT40s Supporter
There's been some discussion in other threads about Plasti Dip, so I thought I'd start a thread on the subject.

I've "dipped" four cars now, so I've got some experience with it. I used the standard DipYourCar.com sprayer on all four: https://www.dipyourcar.com/collections/sprayers-and-spray-guns/products/dyc-dipsprayer

New_DipSprayer_Product_1024x1024.jpg

They do sell an "advanced" system with a more powerful turbine. I haven't used it, but it supposedly will have less orange peel than the standard sprayer. If I keep doing this, I may have to buy the advanced turbine.

Pros of Plastidip:
  • Cheap - $300-$500 in materials to dip a car
  • Thick enough to hide flaws - on the SLC I only sanded to 400 grit and there's no sanding marks
  • Much less prep work than a paint job
  • Easily removable if you want to change the color
  • Lots of color choices including some crazy colorshifts
  • Takes some practice, but it can be repaired easily

Cons of Plastidip:
  • Does have some orange peel
  • Doesn't hold up well on places that get touched or rubbed a lot
  • Can't be wet sanded, so it will never be as smooth and shiny as a really good paint job

Dipping process:
1) Dewax and clean car
2) Tape off places you don't want dipped and would be difficult to peel. I didn't tape off the windows or headlights on the SLC, just peeled them after I was done.
3) Apply base coat, 3-5 coats. Most pearls use black as a base, but different base coats yield different results with the same pearl. Number of gallons of base color required depends on the size of the car. My Dakota took 4 gallons, the Miata was 2.5 gallons, SLC took 2.5 gallons, and my G8 took 3 gallons.

Here's my Pontiac G8 with the basecoat applied: