Roush engine failure...

I was supposed to pick up my P2202 from my installer today... He took me for a test drive.... and that was the end... After 10 min of driving as he punched in to 2nd gear there was 3 loud back firing sounds...and the car stalled and would not start again... we pushed the car back to his shop and checked to see if it was.. we noticed that the cam was burnt out. Granted, i know roush covers this under warranty, but I have a problem with parts of this engine being made in China. I have a feeling if the cam was US made this wouldn't have happened. Now i probably have to wait 6 weeks before I can see the car again... :( , We spend good money for these engines.. we should get the best parts... My main reason for going with a roush engine was for the feeling that I will get the reliability, performance, and reputation that they carry... I am not a mechanic, but can someone tell me if what I'm saying is accurate?

Steve C

Steve
GT40s Supporter
Dave,

Cam as in cam shaft failure?

Failure how...lobes worn down?

Does it have roller or flat tappet lifters? If flat tappett there has been lot's said about removal of needed additives in oil that minimize cam wear from flat tappet lifters but, if a roller that shouldn't be the problem.

Tell us more ...detail of "cam failure"

Steve P2125

Ron Earp

Admin
My main reason for going with a roush engine was for the feeling that I will get the reliability, performance, and reputation that they carry... I am not a mechanic, but can someone tell me if what I'm saying is accurate?

IMHO you're paying a lot for the Roush name. I'm a big fan of supporting smaller more focused engine builders and working with s/he to get the engine you want. You'll pay less, be involved with the process, and hopefully get exactly what you wish.

Dave,

Cam as in cam shaft failure?

Failure how...lobes worn down?