To Gt or not GT? Help is the question.

Hi, I've been mulling over the different makes for the last six months and have nailed it down to the (IMHO) CAV and Superperformance.
Now I'm in limbo as to what to do:- either a brand new CAV MKI or a used (just) Superperformance MKII. both at the same price. I'm leaning to the CAV as it'll be new, in the colours I choose, centre gear change. However the Superperformance a fine looking car, the only area I'm not happy with is the gear shift is on the sill (RHD). I'm 6'2" so need to remove any obstacles for a neat(ish) mount and dismount.
Any comments would be greatly appreciated.....

This site is a real help and long may it be...Have a Great and Safe New Year!:thumbsup:

CAV MK 1....BUT I'M BIASED AS I OWN A CAV. THE SPF IS OBVIOUSLY A FINE CAR BUT I THINK YOU'LL FIND THE CENTRE SHIFT A LITTLE EASIER TO LIVE WITH GIVEN YOUR HEIGHT PLUS THAT STAINLESS STEEL CHASSIS IN THE CAV WILL BE A BIG PLUS IN THE RAIN AND WET CONDITIONS FOUND IN ENGLAND. (read less potential rust issues). WHICHEVER YOU CHOSE GOOD LUCK....KEEP IN MIND WE ON THE FORUM WILL TELL YOU THE CAR DOESN'T EXIST UNLESS WE SEE IT!!!

Ian Anderson

Lifetime Supporter
In my opinion Superformance although a Mk2 is not my favourite!

2 Reasons
1) More authentic in construction etc - if this is a priority it's the only way to go unless you have a lot of ££££ for a Gelscoe at £200k plus
2) Center shift should only be on a Mk3. Once you are in the car try put it in 5th then take your foot off the clutch - you will knock it back into neutral with your knee / leg (Presuming the car to be right hand drive)

That said both are great cars and if you plan to drive (opposed to garage / show queen) the CAV could be the way forward as the stainless body construction will live longer than mild steel and they can be made very comfortable with luggage etc (Small but possible), I believe more waterproof in rain etc.