welding transaxle

I'm about to take a leap of faith but before i commit has anyone ever tried welding to the case of an audi transaxle? I am doing an experiment but if it fails i am out $200 and a tranny, if it works i will post in the diy section.

I havent a clue, instead i have a friend of a friend who builds aluminum boats who will do the welding, he doesnt think there will be a problem but wasnt too sure what effect the tranny having been full of oil all its life was going to have on welding, thinking that maybe the oil would be in the pores of the aluminum.

I worked in a shop that welded a lot of Aluminum. I was an Electrician/ electronics tech and serviced the welding machines and was around when they were in use. The parts were preheated in an oven, wraped in a heat retaining blanket while the needed portion was welded and then returned to the oven to cool at a slow rate. Even with all these precautions, most of the time the parts had to be remachined. All oil was removed from the parts in a powerful heated degreasing tank and then also ran thru a sonic cleaner.Good luck in your endeavor.
VIC

Eric,

Victor is 200% correct. If you are trying to repair a cracked housing, DON'T! You'll have a lot more than $200 in the job by the time it's done properly. No offense to your boat welding buddy, but welding cast aluminum is a whole different ballgame. There are shops that specifically weld cracked gearboxes, uprights, etc. Try pricing the job and getting some advice from a pro before you take the big leap yourself.

Bill

im going to try it on the scrap bits left over from the mill work first. if all looks good i will build a jig to hold it all then down some liquid courage and make the commitment. if i do it i will let you know, probably within the next 2 weeks.

Hi to all