Flat Plane Crank LS1

Here is the post I put on LS1tech, but would like your thoughts also.

Hello all. First post and I am going to try to make it a good one. I am building an SLC here soon and trying to decide on which engine to put in it.

I have done the searchs and found a few threads on the flat plane crank, but do not see anyone finishing them up. I have even seen somewhere someone had a crank all the way made up but bailed on the project later on.

I think I have gone crazy, but I hope in a good way, but I have been pondering this for a while. I really want an exotic sounding engine that is unique for the SLC. The V8 LS sounding engines are ok to me, just not an exotic scream. I want the scream and need the scream. I do not know why, but I have a sickness.

I am personally not interested in all out power. I find that now I have been tracking cars and racing for about 10 years I have seen myself go through the bell shaped curve of hp desire. At first I started out with an 85hp MR2 on the track and thought it was fun, but wanted more hp. Eventually got to 500rwhp and was not a great driver at the time and way too much car for me. Now I feel I am much better driver and do not need the high hp numbers and find it more fun to drive a car closer to the limit on all aspects of the track just as enjoyable as going 20-30mph more at the end of the straights. Finding the limits of the car and pushing yourself to do better at those limits is satisfying. Plus, my car will be a street car so the feeling I get from driving it each day is more than all out speed. The sound of the engine has a huge impact to me on the feel of the car of this type.