Engine and tranny installation

Hello,
I am getting very close to pulling the trigger on the Superformance MK11 car purchase. I have never built a car of this caliper so I am tentative about the engine and transmission installation. I have a very good mechanical aptitude and a mechanical engineer by trade. Based on your experience, is this something that should be left to the experts or can this be achieved minimal additional to the vocabulary? The engine I want to install in this car is a big block Ford from Jon Kasse, P-51 series stable of engines. Please provide some feedback, all are appreciated.

If you're fairly mechanical engine /trans installation is not that difficult on an SPF. I did mine in about 2 weeks. I'm not a mechanic by training, but have owned several race cars that required engine removals/installations. Having said that my SPF has a 427 Windsor stroker. Your Kasse engine is FE based with custom heads. That may involve custom headers or other work to get it to fit the SPF. FE's require a different bellhousing and engine mounts. I believe Alan Watkins is the only forum member that did his own FE installation on an SPF. Hope you're not going for an 800hp Kasse big block!

Rick Muck- Mark IV

GT40s Sponsor
Supporter
If you know what end of a wrench to hold and can think things all the way through, you can do the install. Understand that even with a common powertrain there are some "issues" you will encounter. One of my customers recently had a problem with the pulleys fouling on the bulkhead during the install. A little careful thought and eyeballing by him found the factory had bolted the mount pedestals left for right that put the engine forward two inches. A quick swap side for side put it right.

Plan for the worst and hope for the best and you will be OK..............