Hedrick Speedsports; GT40 Active Power Cars build

Ben Hedrick

Supporter
Ok folks. Here is the “start” of my GT40 build log. I am starting with an Active Power Cars, Chris Ardern chassis and it is the +4” stretch. I did have a lot of the body work done with Chris, prior to it being shipped to me in Florida, hence why it looks more complete than others from Chris. I am in Ormond Beach, FL which is just North of Daytona Beach. My background is motorsports and I’m an X-boat racer (Offshore Powerboats) and a SCCA road racer, mostly Spec Miata’s, Mustang T2’s and Mazda RX7 Endurance cars, as well as WKA Shifter Karts. We are building this car more as a “resto-mod” GT40 that I will track some and go get coffee in (really fast trips) and it will be powered by a 351W (EFI) & 997 Transaxle. I’m a huge Gulf livery fan, but I don’t expect it to be a traditional Gulf livery car, maybe. Some details: Superformance GT40 seats, Speedhut gauges, Sabelt harness’, custom widen Halibrand-Style pin-drive wheels, tires are front: 275/40ZR-17 & rear: 335/35ZR-17.

So, these are the basics of my build and here are a few pics that I “hope” you all will dig. And I’ll update as I can, but I’m subcontracting some work by others, so photos may be slow coming.

Cheers, Ben

20230423_100530.jpg

20230423_100525.jpg

20230422_114927.jpg

20230410_102331.jpg

20230912_110321.jpg

20230912_120122.jpg

Seeing yours with all of the body parts nicely lined up and a single consistent color, I truly believe the +4 looks better than the original.

Ben Hedrick

Supporter
Seeing yours with all of the body parts nicely lined up and a single consistent color, I truly believe the +4 looks better than the original.

Brian, you know you aren’t the 1st to mention that. And I too LOVE the original GT40’s but, I agree that this little bit longer GT40, makes the GT40 look just a little faster and a little meaner/leaner…

Ben

Ben Hedrick

Supporter