How I selected a GT40 - Long

After reading a few of the recent threads I wanted to share how we made our decision. I am a mechanical engineer with a reasonable automotive background. As such I must first state I do did not see any engineering from any manufacturer that would disqualify any product. Mostly it is somebody took a differnet approach and/or had diferent priorities. It is up to the individual to decide what is important and the find the manufacturer that performs those items best at the best value.
I began my search for a GT40 was just after watching the 1966 LeMans race, but things like growing up and school put it on hold. I did get a model (still have it) a couple of years later and fell in love with the "bundel of snakes". Fast forward to late 1990's. I seriously begin to look for a replica because the real thing is well beyond what I can afford. Not many available, at least I can not find much information other than H-M (more than real thing) and some company in New England. Again I put search on hold to start a new business. Fast forward to 2002 I went into my dealer and there was a poster of a GT40. I immediatly went home and hit google - GT40 and found this, actually the original, forum. I learned my dream was real. At the same time my son announced he wanted to become an automotive engineering and learn to REALY drive. So after a conversation with you know (if you are married) who we are off to the races.

This forum helped us look up a number of sources, ie:
ERA - great car and site downloaded their manual, very good design and excelent engineering. I was put off with delivery timing and cost of ZF transaxel.

GTD - This was initially my first choice. The design appeared very well thought out, interior was excelent and attention to detail (clip latching, interior). While I did get some response I was a little concerned. Base upon the information from the guys who had GTD's I was prepared to go to the UK to look at them.