Looking for a Mark II in original condition

I want to thank all those who welcomed me to your web site. I have a request. As those who read my introduction know, I am a model builder by passion. There is a new large scale kit of a Mark II about to hit the market. This is likely to be an extraordinarily successful kit as it is the first 1:12 kit done by a major manufacture.

I have a friend who owns a company that produces extraordinarily accurate aftermarket parts for such kits. His pieces are exceptionally well researched and of very high quality. The kits generally include research material to assist the builder in making very fine representations of the full size vehicle.

I am trying to help him find the owner of an original Mark II that is willing to let him photograph and measure the car for reference. A vehicle in Europe would be best, with North America being second, but anywhere in the world would be considered. As rare as these car are, travel is very much an option. Any assistance would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Perhaps the easiest thing to do would be to contact Lee Holman (of Holman & Moody). They had quite a few leftover bits from their years campaigning Mk II GT40s on behalf of Ford, and in the early 90s they thought they might have a go at producing continuation cars at $500K a whack. They built one car, and nobody bit (at least as far as I know).

That car is still for sale, and there's a bunch of unfinished tubs etc. sitting around too. I think it would be an excellent means for your friend to not only get to see a completed car (built to 1966 specs in every regard), but also to get close access to bare chassis, uncompleted sub-systems etc.

| Holman & Moody cars for sale |