My Apologies

Sorry Guys

I lauched straight into the questions ( re Roll Cages) and missed the thread for introductions

My Name is David McDonough and am based in Adelaide . I am seriously looking at a CAV GT40 to use in competition. I recently visited CAV in Cape Town on a business related trip and thought the cars were very good. My backgound is that I am a mechanical engineer who ended up starting my own business ... some 15 years ago. I have competed off and on in motorsport for a number of years, mainly on gravel in cars like an Evo 6 and VR4. ( South Australian Rally Champion ) No doubt if you " google me " and put in my name and "rally" it will give you an idea. A few years ago we turned our hand to Tarmac rally racing and had good success. Our current car is a Ford Capri Perana which is basically a Mk1 Ford Capri powered by a very modified 347 cu engine. So similar power to weight as a GT 40 ... but severe lack of traction being able to only run 15 x 7 inch rims. the car has won Rally Tasmania and has becom an icon of the Perana web site.

Looking to upgrade to a GT40. As part of my business is in Defence engineering fabrication, we have access to a bevy of 5 axis machining centres, laser cutters and turret punches .. so making custom bits is a benefit we enjoy. My aim is to buld a competitive safe vehicle and spend the next ten years competing globally. ( I am 45 at the moment )

Having read through the threads of the web site.. I must commend you all on the content and professionaism displayed. It is a joy to read unlike other sites.

Now if I could only get John Spence to reply to an email...... I might be able to place that order for a CAV GT40.

Thanks for your help to date re roll Cages .. It is appreciated.

Regards

David

Ron Earp

Admin
Hi David,