New to GTD's, help needed

Hi all

This is my first post on here as I am a complete newbie to GTD's and GT40 replicas so hello everyone. I've ended up here as I've seen a couple of cars that I like the look of but don't really know loads about GT40's and the GTD replicas. The cars I am looking at were both built in the mid 90's and have ford 5l 302 engines.

So here are my initial questions (please excuse me if I ask some stupid questions)

1) Will I fit in one? I am 6ft 2" tall but understand they might be a bit tight for space
2) How reliable are these cars/engines? Are they straight forward to maintain, run and look after?
3) How well rated are the GTD replicas and how close to an original are they?
4) Are there any good references I should read, forum posts I should check out etc?
5) Is there a GTD 40 buyers guide anywhere and what advice would you give to someone going to look at one of these cars for the first time

I think that should do for now :) . I'd really appreciate any help you can offer me and information on these wonderful machines and I hope with your help I can make a purchase with the relevant knowledge I need

Thanks

Trev

Mike Pass

Supporter
Hi Trevor and welcome. To try and answer your questions.....
(1) If you are tall there are some solutions. To gain space you can fit a "Gurney bubble" to the top of the door. At the bottom you can fit a dropped floor which you can get from Mick Sollis at Southern GT. You can fit a seat with a thinner base cushion. Also try fitting in a car yourself. I am sure someone local to you will be able to help.