new build

Hi guys did a bit of searching about and from what I see here it takes quite a while to build one of these things.

I have just retired early "50" and considering a build, however could you just fill me in on a couple of points, ball park figure thinking, nothing specific.

I'm a mechanic to trade, with a facility and tools if that helps answer the questions

Why does it take so long to build one, 3-5 years it seems helish long.

Is it difficult to get the parts you need from breakers etc.

And finally a rolling chassis is about 10 grand, how far does that take you down the road to a finished product, is it the best way to go and whats the cheapest you have seen a decent one built for.

Thanks in advance, Dave.

And it's a great site lads, well done.

Bill Hara

Old Hand
GT40s Supporter
Dave
It is not unusual for self built vehicles to take a long time because "life" seems to get in the way.... It took me almost 6 years, marriage, renovations, child, change in jobs - all conspired to delay me. There was also a 6 month period where I simply lost motivation....
Having said that, there are guys on the forum that have taken less than a year to build with all their life commitments and many more that take about 12-18 months.
A big part of the time comes with the choice of manufacturer you go with, where my build required the space frame to be skinned with aluminium panels (63 in all) and for various reasons it took me about 8 months to do (about 4 weeks of real time work). It was my choice to go this way and I am happy I did, as I got to form my panels out of stock sheets making cardboard templates. Gives you are real sense of achievement....
Many manufacturers offer kits with pre-skinned or actual monocoque chassis that skip this step entirely.