Greetings from Calhoun, Ga USA

My name is Alan Gayton and I live in Calhoun Ga. I work as a technology director for the education system here in Georgia. Other than an interest in cars, I do competition BBQ in the KCBS pro circuit, and practice karate. I just turned 50 and realized its time to start working towards my dreams.

Growing up, my dad raced SCCA so I was around a lot of cool cars. He ran an MG Midget with a Ford v6 that was quite fun to drive. As I grew into a teen, this lead me to an appreciation of cars like Cobras, Lamborghinis, and the like. Then one day, I found a copy of Kit Car magazine with an ERA GT 40. I was hooked! I have wanted one ever since. I have had an MGB and recently sold my 2015 Camaro but I just can't shake the dream of a GT 40. I don't have the money and won't anytime soon. However, I figure I can go ahead and start learning, planning, and saving. I figure the only way to get there is set a goal.

What I want:
My favorite look is the MK I GT 40 with dual nostrils. I want it to be blue with white stripes. IF I did it today, I would go with an RCR Deluxe Plus. I want to build the car, and I think that level of kit would fit my skill level (as long as I farm out the painting). I am not interested in racing and want as simple and low cost build as I can, so I don't plan on straying too far from the recommended setup. I will probably do a 302 crate with a recommended transmission. The one area where I will stray a bit is in comfort. I want this to be as comfortable/convenient/refined as possible (for a GT 40) so I will put a bit more in things like sound absorption, back up camera, remote side mirrors, cup holders :cool:, and the like. I realize it is a raw car and that's fine but since my intended use is strictly street, I want it optimized a bit for such.

The pic is my dad's MG with me and my best friend back in high school. You can see why I like my color choices.

Attachments

• WP_20150220_002.jpg
    WP_20150220_002.jpg