The Virtual Mk4

Good Afternoon all. Im sure a few folks have seen me wandering around the forum. I have spoken to a few of the usual suspects around here and got to know some of you. I am not exactly sure where this project is going to take me. For right this moment, the design is going to live in my head and on the computer. Will I build it someday? Time will tell.

A few things to know about me. Most importantly, I cant spell! My background. I am an engineer (I do maths and stuff) and I have previously built 2 airplanes. Have wanted to build a car for years but flying always getting in the way. I was not all that interested in a Mk1 or Mk2. Then I discovered the Mk4. I happen to have access to a real one and fell in love. It seems its not a popular build and at one time or another there was kits to be had out there but not looks like a scratch build if you really want one. I have been doing some significant research on the car and have probably 60 hours or so into my model. I thought I would show it off. I am calling it the virtual Mk4 for now. Someday maybe it won't be virtual.

Anyway! Here it is so far.

I shortened the wheelbase a bit to make things fit. Sporting 25 inch tires in the front and 28 inch out back. 15X8 in the front and 15X12 wheels. The car has a 55 inch symmetrical track with a 93.5 inch wheel base. The car is 171 inches long and I opted for 40 inch tall. I gave myself an additional 1.5 inches of height for more cabin space if the thing ever does materialize some day.
More to come I hope soon!

Screen Shot 2021-12-24 at 1.54.09 PM.png

Last edited:

Neil

Supporter
That is a very nice model. I'm sure that you have put a lot of work into creating it.