Help with Bodywork

I am now at the "plan for bodywork stage". I have never done any bodywork before /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif but would like to do most of the prep for painting myself this time.
Could any of you master craftsmen, please recommend a good book or better yet be able to describe the best products and steps to prepare the body - seams, edges, gaps and other build ups needed to smooth out/align the contour/body lines.

Any and all help/suggestions greatly appreciated.

Howard Jones

Supporter
Can you tell us what you need to do to the bodywork? What I am saying is do you need to do mainly surface prep or do you have fit line issues. Will you need to add lenght to the doors for example. Are the doors flat surfaces in the correct plane in relation to the spider in and around the side air scoops? These sort of things will require the most work.

I was final sanding the spider last night and as I was doing it I wished I had at least sanded off the clear coat before I mounted it on the car. Where are you in your build?

I have a GTD and am just finishing my body prep.

Colin,

Give Peter Delaney a buzz. Between his 40 and his Vette, he

has practically sanded his fingerprints off! His bodywork

experience(lessons learned) should help you out a lot.

Between the two cars, he has tackled all sorts of problems,

from minor(filler/primer/sanding) to major(sanded some

edges too far, and had to build them back up, etc.)

His 40 looks great, so he must have learned something along

the way.

Bill

Blaine, I would suggest you look around for a local expert who can help you...at least help you get started. Preferably someone who has fiberglass experience. I am by no means an expert, not even a decent beginner, but I have learned a lot being around guys like Hershal Byrd and Bill Hough. You can only get so much from a book; you can get so much more from someone who is experienced.

Good luck.