tappet sound and oil top of piston

Marcus

Supporter
Hi guys,
Reaching out for some thoughts from your good selves re an oiled plug...
Am running an old 302 Windsor standard set-up...
Was told the engine was sound although had sat around unused for a while.... have started running the engine up and she smokes oil a bit and now have some intermittent clicking coming from one bank of rockers....blue smoke getting worse on acceleration...
Pulled the plugs and one cylinder plug shows oil traces...
Inserted a camera and small amount of oil sitting on top of the piston.....no traces of broken ring...
Compression test shows 130psi.....so not sure if this totally eliminates a stuck or broken ring but am hopeful that ring is intact.
So my question is could this be a fault with the valve steam seal.....?
I am a novice when it comes to engines but if compression is OK I am guessing the oil must be coming from above hence the question re the seals..... the on off tapping or clicking seems to be coming from the same bank/cylinder...
Would welcome any advise from you experts to a novice like myself and am hoping that replacing the valve seals is quite straight forward.....
Thanks for anyone able to help with some thoughts....
Kind regards
Marcus

I had an issue with valve seals leaking and allowing oil into the cylinder. Have you noticed any evidence of a piece of a valve seal underneath the valve covers? I had a couple of pieces of blue material on mine. Doing a rebuild of that engine, so I cannot speak to how easy it would be to change a valve seal. Someone else will have to comment as to that.

Jim

VALVE SEALS AND OR VALVE GUIDES.. IF IT IS AN OLD MOTOR YOU CAN BE SURE THE SEALS ARE AS HARD AS A WEDDING DICK..
CHECK THE VACUUM WITH A GAUGE.. IF IT IS BOUNCING COULD INDICATE A VLAVE TRANE PROBLEM (WORN GUIDES).... SEALS CAN BE REPLACE WHILE THE MOTOR IS IN THE CAR WITH THE PROPER TOOL.