transaxle

does anyone out there have a TS-40 complete and running on the road/ I am looking at any feed back on the renault trans. that A .Sheldon recommends. My TS -40 is almost a roller and am gettimg ready for the final stages of the build.

Tim Kay

Lifetime Supporter
Kev,

Be glad to help so ask away /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif I've been running TS40 with Renault for several years and it's been gr8. 4,000 miles and no problem, approx 320hp /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

Kev,
My car just passed 23,000 miles on Renault21T transaxle with AP racing clutch. No problems. I run synthetic oil and change it every 1000 miles. I do not hammer it in 1st since everbody says that 1st is the weak point of the transaxle and with so much torque available I don't think you need to hammer 1st anyway. An uprated shaft is available in UK but its expensive .Car has run 170 in France going to Le Mans and I track it regularly on DunlopCR82 racing tires so its had a good workout.I think car is in the same 320 range as Tims.

Howard Jones

Supporter
Kev, I believe that the TS40 were built to use a renault gearbox. I would build the car with the intended gearbox unless you really want something else AND you are willing to do serious engineering to the car.

The good news is the renault boxes work pretty well. I have a GTD with one with 3500 miles on it. My motor is a 302 with about 350-370Hp or so. You will need to upgrade the clutch for more than 300hp but the delorian's used the same gearbox and they have a centerforce upgrade clutch that work perfect. The gearbox itself will take up to 400Hp IF you drive the car like YOU paid for it. NO DRAG RACE STARTS and it will serve you well.