Ring and Pinion Strength

Hi all,
I'm a mechanical engineer/car nut, and I just finished scouring the entire drivetrain forum for transaxle info, and I must say, there's quite a bit of info out there!

What I didn't find was some sort of estimate for the strength of different ring and pinions (alone) for different gearboxes like the 016, 01E, UN1, etc...
I'm actually designing a custom gearbox on the cheap, and I'd like to see if I can use an Audi R&P, on account of price, availibility, and its adaptability to the "university special" torsen LSD. I'm looking to put out a max of 4300lb-ft AT THE RING&PINION in a 2200lb car.

Has anyone done any cryo/heat-treatment operations to strengthen the R&P? Any feedback? Thanks...

[ QUOTE ]
I'm actually designing a custom gearbox on the cheap, and I'd like to see if I can use an Audi R&P, on account of price, availibility, and its adaptability to the "university special" torsen LSD. I'm looking to put out a max of 4300lb-ft AT THE RING&PINION in a 2200lb car.

[/ QUOTE ]

Ummm...is that a typo? Is there an extra zero there? Do you mean 430 lb-ft or 4,300 lb-ft? And I'm unlear of the meaning of the "Universally Special" LSD.

No that wasn't a typo, I figured 420-430 at the engine, with just over a 10:1 overall gear ratio in first (which should go up to 60+mph!), and as for the university special LSD, check out torsen.com, its the one they provide for the FSAE programs (I'm looking at the stronger version of that)