Chassis Weight

Hi All.

I'm new to all this, and just curious as to how much the bare chassis weighs.

RCR Alloy, looks fantastic

The original chassis and Tube framed chassis.

Cheers everyone and thanks

Ray

RCR weighs a shade over 300lbs including fuel tanks...

Make sure to add the weight of the aluminum cladding and fuel tanks to any tube chassis for an apples to apples comparison....

Hi Fran,

When you say a shade over 300 lbs., what is a "shade"?

If you would allow me, I'd like to take a stab at guessing your mono's weight from just a few simple deductions.

A 4x8 sheet of aluminum, depending on alloy, as far as I can tell without knowing the actual alloy, weighs on average 110-120 lbs. per sheet at the thickness you provide, (6mm/.250"). Or 3.4 - 3.75 lbs. per square foot.

So allowing for the benefit of the doubt, and without the roll bar that an RCR has to have, would mean that, using conservative figures, your mono has about 3 sheets of aluminum used in its construction, or 96 sq. ft.

Totaling 330 - 360 lbs.

The only thing I can't get my head around is how you only need 3, 4x8 sheets or 96 sq.ft. of aluminum to build a mono.

I have not included any of the extruded aluminum re-inforcements shown in pictures of the RCR mono.

Please help me to understand how an RCR tub is built.

Thanks,
Scott

Ah Scott ...
you are assuming that all the material is 6 mm ...which it is not and that 100% of all the sheet is being used....again which it is not....

Many of the guys on the forum have picked up one end of the bare chassis with me holding the other.....why the concern Scott...???

An aluminum Lola Mk3b original tub weights 115lbs......

Last edited:
No concern at all.

Just wondering.

Oh by the way, the little red tach needle below you avatar is inoperative.

Its the one that lets everyone know who's online.

Cheers,
Scott

Dave Lindemann

Lifetime Supporter
Ah Scott ...