Fuel Cell Plumbing & Vents

Hello to all GT40 forum members. This is my first post. I am relatively new to the GT40 community but I have read most all of the discussions on the forum during the past year.

I am just about to finish CAV #69 in Phoenix. The car is guardsman blue with silver stripes and has a Roush 342 with a normally aspirated 4-barrel carburetor and a ZF trans. I have done a lot of minor upgrades to the car to make it a first class street car, including reshaping the seats, water sealing, insulating and sound reduction, adding a deadman pedal, changing clutch pedal geometry, upgrades to the suspension, etc. And, I have received a lot of very timely and generous advise from Frank Catt, Tom Hughes, Jean and John at Auto Futura, Pat Chaffin, David Wagner, and others. My thanks to you all.

My last big job is to check out the fuel cells and to minimize any vapor smells around the car that are especially noticeable in Phoenix with 110 F summer days. In addition, I would also like to upgrade the basic fuel cell plumbing. I know what follows is a bit over-intellectualized, but except for adding a roll cage, the fuel system is the only easy way to make a significant change in the inherent crash safety of the car. Any specific comments about what I am doing, right or wrong, or where to get the correct parts, would be appreciated.

Basically, I plan to follow the attached drawing except I also want to add a check valve for roll over protection in the vent tube. And, I think flaps valves or another type of valves should be added to prevent the fuel from spraying out of the fuel cells if they are compressed in a crash and the filler neck is broken.