GT40 Roadster: Opinions?

Hey Everyone,

First off, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Max Fischer, and I live in Richmond, Virginia, USA. I work as a cinematographer on mainly short-format projects (music videos and commercials), so that gives me a lot of time for my other passion; cars!

Well, I've got the GT40 bug, and have decided to build one. I'll be on a very tight budget, but performance and authenticity (to a certain extent) are not imperative.

I think I want to build it as a roadster. I figure that the cost to do the modifications will be less than or equal to air conditioning, plus I won't have to worry about my mild case of clausterphobiain a 40" tall car!!!

Here are my options, and personal opinions on each:

Simply cut the spider at the rear hoop and the doors at the sills, leaving the starndard windshield and frame. I would definitely pass on this, as it makes the car look a lot like a Corvette for some reason. It also just seems like a cheesy chop job.

Buy an original GT40 roadster windshield and frame from Fran Kress If you've never seen this, it's very hip. BUT...the winshield shape is VERY different from a standard GT40, and some people may not like it. It is narrower and taller, and slightly hurts the agressive roof line of the GT40. Could this hurt resale value?

Make some sort of T-tops for a standard GT-40. I know that Safir and Tornado offered this. Does anyone have this setup? How is it? Would it be an easy thing to modify. Would it be difficult to keep air/water/sound tight?

Or should I just forget the whole idea, use a standard body, and buy air conditioning?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Max.

Ron Earp

Admin
I'll be brief and not long winded - Use a standard body, buy AC. One reason MKIIIs, GT40 targas, and MkIVs are not as popular - folks don't seem to like the looks as much. This was discussed along with the targa idea on a thread a long time ago, you might find with a search.