GTD40 Suspension Bushes

Hi. I've been building my GTD40 for 14 years ( is this a record ? )and I'm trying to finish it this year. I'm having the rear suspension re-chromed and want to replace all of the rubber bushes. Given the demise of GTD, does anyone have any info on where I can get hold of replacements ? I'm in the UK near Hungerford. Thanks. Stuart.

Hello -

Ray Christopher of GTD Racing can supply Harder Nylon bushes with Steel tube centres if required - they work far better than the older rubber style inserts that tend to move to one end or other depending on location and load.

Alternatively - modify your existing trailing arms + upper hub link by welding tapped inserts into each end to allow fitment of rose joints.

Safety Note - Please ensure inserts are quality welded as they take quite a load.

Thinking of which - I was passenger in Dave Parkers R42 at Castle Coombe a couple of years ago - when we had the rear ns link on his lower trailing arm break whilst braking for Avon Rise from about 130mph - now that was interesting!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

Hi, Paul.

Thanks for the info - do you have any contact details for Ray/ GTD Racing ? I think I'll stick to bushes for now ! I don't think my weldings up to it !

Thanks

Stuart

Brian Magee

Supporter
Stuart

Where have you been hiding all of these years? I am just down the road in Newbury.

I believe Ray Webber at Mirage GTD Automotive Engineering in Poole has a list of GTD suppliers and may be able to help. His number is 0794 175 2760

Brian.

Just telephone "Powerflex" and tell them i recommended you to contact them and they will supply you direct with a perfect fitting complete set of bushes and sleeves complete with grease. I race with them and they transform the handling without the extreme harshness of rod ends which can cause no end of problems if you use your car on the road a lot.
Regards,
Graham @ GTA Racing.

Graham,