Monocoque on ebay

Mike Pass

Supporter
The pics are from 2008. The business closed shortly afterwards when the builder Ray Webber died. They made 5, maybe 6 chassis.
Cheers
Mike

Mike Pass

Supporter
The asking price was 32,000 pounds sterling for the chassis and body. The advert is no longer on Ebay.
Cheers
Mike

At the risk of continuing a chassis discussion on this thread instead of the chassis forum.....

Thanks for the videos Mike. Like you, I am an amateur when it comes to structural issues and have come by my 'understanding' such as it is, by piecing together numerous sources of info. Over the years I been lucky enough to have had access to some pretty good mechanical/structural engineers in the aerospace industry. I remember having a discussion with a senior engineer about the highest efficiency strength to weight structures and he used the example of comparing a rain gutter (length of cylindrical half-pipe) to an aluminum pop can. Pointing how easy it is to twist the guttering compared to a very thin-skinned can - very similar to the box section video you provided.