SPF GT40 handling?

I see that Foowowee and DaveM are accumulating some track time on theirs.

Question: How is the handling on these as received? Are you running the suspension and steering as setup by High-Tech or did you or your retailer do any sorting out?

Thanks

Alan, I wouldn't call what I've been doing "tracking the car". Just taking some spirited parade laps. No alterations from stock that I'm aware of, besides the Nittos. But I was impressed with the handling. I'm no expert, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.:D

Mike

Alan, my Dad and I have a few track days on the GT-40. As delivered to us (second owner) the toe was out of whack and the front camber was almost 0 deg. We had the car realigned but I didn't get the specs...I'll see if the shop that did the work still has them.

For the track;

I felt the anti sway bars and suspension damping are too soft - rebound and compression. Especially the rear. I think we're going to revalve the rear dampers??

There is quite a bit of understeer, not such a bad thing for most people (myself included)

The chassis feels very rigid and stable.

The sidewall on the OE tires are really squishy. No surprise there.

We had too much fun driving the new GT and The SPF GT-40 back to back! Heres a pic...

Attachments

• GT and GT-40 track resize.jpg
    GT and GT-40 track resize.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 1,060
Jeff, that is pretty neat pic. Too bad it wasn't a closer shot to see some detail on the cars. I'm assuming the GT40 is a Windsor based 427. How did it pull against the GT?
I'm sure the GT was easier to drive, but which car did you have more fun driving?

Mike

As European SPF importer we just have developed a complete set of fully adjustable coilover shocks, different spring rates, adjustable rebound and adjustable compression with high and low speed settings.
Final pricing will be available shortly.

Herman Eshuis