fuel filling

Hi its been a while but thought I would put the question up.
My 40 build started back in 2000 and ended in 2010.
I made nearly all the components, the only bug I have is filling it with fuel.
I was a motor mechanic for 45 years so you know how things should be made or designed.
I think the breather maybe to small but I would like to know what you guys run.

My course of action so far.
My filler tubes did not have what I thought where ideal bends, so I made a new tube including the cap and pot assembly that sit up the top.
The breather tube is 19mm, it sits next to the filler inlet on the top of the tank.
On the inside a tube has been attached to the breather and goes to the rear of the tank ( a recent mod).
The baffles are not air tight so fumes can spill over the top.

Filling is way better up to about 30lt, with the new set up I can look down inside the filler and it is filling up very easy, like turning a drink bottle upside down and its gulping .
I spoke to my dad about it and he made a suggestion of putting another breather in the bend as per drawing.

So before I do any more I thought I would ask for some suggestions from you guys.

Attachments

• CCF_000221.pdf
    223.2 KB · Views: 173
Last edited:
Hi Jim
Long time, no hear. Hope all is well.
I have the same issue and think it’s were the breather re-enters the fill pipe. I can’t get the nozzle down past the breather due to the first sharp bend in the fill pipe and it blows back if I give it beans. Extending the breather tube up inside the filler to just under the cap should stop blow back, but may vent fuel if you are on a slight uphill while refueling.
Not sure if you’ve fixed that on your redesigned filler tube.
Adding a second breather midway in the filler tube may cause turbulence in the fuel flow and backup the flow??

Clayton

hi Clayton
yes that is what I thought at first, My fill hole that the nozzle go's in was only large enough say 25mm.