Help required removing a UN1

I'm not a mechanic, but I'm trying to learn! I've got several gearbox oil leaks, so decided to get Chris Cole to do a strip down & rebuild.

However, I'm having trouble getting the box off. I've removed the exhaust, chassis cross-member, starter motor and drive shafts. The engine is "chocked" on wooden bloacks, and the gearbox is supported on a trolly jack. However, the box seems well connected to the engine, even with all bolts loostened. Am I missing something? The slave cylinder piston is still connected to the clutch release arm, Should I remove this yet?

Also, the bell housing looks like it will hit the lower member of the chassis when I move it back. Should I simply tilt the engine/gearbox slightly so that it clears?

If anyone has any ideas, I would be very grateful! Please resist the temptation to take the mickey! Everyone has to start somewhere!

Cheers,

Darren

Hi Darren,

You didn't state which bellhousing/engine combo you are using but if it's an R30 bellhousing connected to a 302, these pictures of the two pieces separated may help.

Without seeing it it's difficult to advise why they are not separating, but double-double check you have'nt left any connecting bolts in the bellhousing. The adapter plate stays bolted to the engine block.

Also try giving the box a good 'wiggle' by hand. hope this helps!

Attachments

• 29-1-04 007.jpg
    29-1-04 007.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 330
  • 29-1-04 008.jpg
    29-1-04 008.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 342
Cheers Julian - what a quick response!!!

Yes, I have a 302, but not sure what bell-housing. The car is a Tonrado, so probably one of their standard items.

Would I be correct is saying that i can leave the slave cylinder on whilst releasing the gearbox? Also, are there any other fixings normally present other than the rather obvious large bolts?

Darren

Ian Anderson

Lifetime Supporter
Darren