Scratch Built in need of Transaxle ideas

Hey there guys and gals,

I'm new here (and you'll quickly find out, i'm no mechanical genius). I'm trying to tap into all of your guys' knowledge and experience to help me resolve this.

I'm building a Rear-mid engine, RWD, one-off custom car based on the lotus esprit chassis. Engine choice isn't the tough part...its the transaxle. I know its been discussed at length on here, but I can't find a solution for my situation. I've got a bad left hip, and driving stick for longer than 20 minutes kills, so i'm looking for either a paddle shifter set up or an automatic...here's the kicker, I'd LIKE to be in the 350ftlb/hp neighborhood. And unfortunately, i'm not made of money, so a 10k tranny isn't in the cards for me. I mostly intend on using this as a show and cruising car. if a manual is the only way, so be it, but if theres another way, I'd love to hear about it. Don't be shy to offer up good manual ideas too.

I've seen some mentioned before like the;
  1. Audi 01E (very rare to find here) (MT)
  2. Porsche Boxter S Transaxle (decent, but might not handle power) (MT/AT)
  3. Porsche G50 - too rich for my blood, and i'm not tracking the car (10k+) (MT)
  4. TH425 - Bullet proof and may be a decent choice, but hard to adapt, heavy, raises engine, only 3 gear
Any other options you guys know of? I'm also interested in MT if you can't think of AT's Thanks in advance, you guys are a wealth of knowledge!!

Neil

Supporter
Hey there guys and gals,

I'm new here (and you'll quickly find out, i'm no mechanical genius). I'm trying to tap into all of your guys' knowledge and experience to help me resolve this.