CAV GT Auto Futura Newsletter

Gregg

Gregg
Lifetime Supporter
Those are some impressive numbers. It didn't think Nascar chassis' were that stiff! I am not an automotive engineer so can someone explain to me how the loadcell is configured and set up to register it's measurements and how that measurement is obtained? Is it a straight number or multiplied/divided by another figure? I see the steel plate welded to the torque arm is bolted to the car in four places. Does that matter? Would the rating change if just the top two bolts were used? The bottom two? Is it even a proper way to measure torsional stiffness as represented?

Thanks for the anticipated education.

I would appreciate a reply from CAV and/or a non competing manufacturer so as not to seem biased one way or the other, however all are free to reply.

Keith

If you remember, the membership got quite heated about this subject on here a couple of years back.

There were, as I recall, some very good "shade tree" ways of testing chassis that some owners had done for themselves. Otherwise, it was a case of some (and by no means all) manufacturers simply stating their chassis stiffness results whilst some members perhaps seem to prefer independent analysis which has never been forthcoming as far as I know.

The CAV would certainly appear to be very stiff that's true...

And then of course someone (probably very rightly) said that the flexibility inherent in the original Cobra chassis enabled it to keep all it's wheels on the ground which was why it was so fast!

It was, in truth a very interesting debate...:)

I see nothing wrong with utilising the '4 bolt' flat plate in this instance as in the 'real' car situation the bolt in top crossmember would complete the circle/box anyway. The secret if there is one is to have light arms/indicators fixed to the chassis at regular intevals along its length so that you can verify where any weak areas are.

Jac Mac

Gregg

Gregg
Lifetime Supporter