Father and son RCR GT40 Mk ll Build

Waiting on our RCR Mk ll Deluxe Plus Kit.Ordered on 4/6/23 and playing the waiting game. Fran told me 7 months ETA from order date but I am a mechanical contractor and parts are hard to get for my business so I am guessing it's gonna be more like a year to a year and a half.We went with 15' halibrands ,G96 gearbox,adjustable pedal slider,door boxes,302 headers,door eyebrows,hartwell latches,boy it adds up fast$.I think we are gonna go with a aluminum small block and build engine in garage.My son is 11 and he likes rare cars(he loves my 1998 H1 Hummer and working on it)so I think we are gonna youtube the build and c how it all goes.Any input would b awsome and very helpful! I have restored a Jeep CJ7 and a 76 Bronco but this is my first complete build. Son wants to do a Ken Miles #98 replica at this point but his mind could change.Wish us luck!

Randy Folsom

Supporter
I ordered mine in May. It is a good that it has not arrived yet, I am still in the process of converting my wood shop into a car shop. Yes, stuff adds up. I have already spent almost $100K on kit and kit options, engine, transaxle, clutch package, and tires. I don't even want think about how much more will be needed. If after pricing all the parts and time to build a 302, you decide to buy a crate motor, Prestige Motor works is great to work with and they only have about a six to eight week lead time. If you are considering getting Avon Tires, be aware, they will stop production at the end of November. If the deal to take them over works out, production won't resume for about six months. If you have not already, take a look at Chuck and Ryan's Build Log. There is a lot of really good information and it very well written with lots of pictures. Hope you have as much fun as I plan to have. Working on it with your son will be great.

Cheers, Randy