Vinyl Wrapping a GT40

Randy Folsom

Supporter
I am going to be building an RCR40 (should be arriving next month) and I am considering vinyl wrap instead of paint. Wondering if anyone else has gone this route. I have never done wrapping before, but based on numerous YouTube videos, it seems doable. Hoping for some guidance from those with prior experience.

Cheers, Randy

I have seen some very talented wrappers but you have many inside compound curves on the 40 that would be nearly impossible IMHO to get right. It would be cheaper if you are trying to save money to have Earl Shieb paint the car. I see people bragging about how their paint job was $25K. The original cars were painted in a freaking garage paint booth as the pictures show and the finishes more than fine. I think wrapping would leave you with a mess. My opinion just as I would not spend anything close to $25K on a kit car. Earl will paint your car for $1399 with base / clear!!

Neil

Supporter
I have seen some very talented wrappers but you have many inside compound curves on the 40 that would be nearly impossible IMHO to get right. It would be cheaper if you are trying to save money to have Earl Shieb paint the car. I see people bragging about how their paint job was $25K. The original cars were painted in a freaking garage paint booth as the pictures show and the finishes more than fine. I think wrapping would leave you with a mess. My opinion just as I would not spend anything close to $25K on a kit car. Earl will paint your car for $1399 with base / clear!!
I remember the days when ol' Earl intoned "I'll paint any car any color for $29.95".

Doug Dyar

Supporter
My car is painted, but I had the nose wrapped in flat black to replicate some of the original cars. It came out fantastic, and was much cheaper than paint. Still holding up after four years.

Randy Folsom

Supporter